Biodiversity Data:
Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Close this search box.

ASEAN Heritage Parks

Wakatobi National Park

Named after the four main islands of Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia, and Binongko, Wakatobi Island consists of 39 islands, three hirsts, and five atolls. Some islands form with the drowning of the baseplate, but atoll formation in Wakatobi Island began with the emergence of some islands followed by the growth of coral reefs around the islands. Coral reefs surrounding the islands continued to grow and formed atolls that are now known as Kaledupa Atoll, Kapota Atoll, and Tomia Atoll.  Kaledupa Atoll, which is 49.26 km long and 9.75 km wide, is best known as the longest single atoll in the Asia Pacific region.  

Wakatobi National Park encompasses 13,900 square kilometers and is located in Wakatobi District, Southeast Sulawesi Province.  It was designated a National Park through Forestry Ministerial Decree Number 393/Kpts-VI/1996 dated 30 July 1996, and was gazetted by Forestry Ministerial Decree No. 7651/Kpts-II/2002 dated 19 August 2002.  Some of the protected species found in the park, based on government regulation Number 7/1999, are the yellow-crested cockatoo (Cacatua sulphurea), Pacific reef heron (Egretta sacra), green sea turtle (Chelonia mydas), hawksbill sea turtle (Eretmochelys imbricata), coconut crab (Birgus latro), horned helmet (Cassis cornuta), Triton’s trumpet (Charonia tritonis), and giant clams (Tridacna spp), among others.  

Wakatobi National Park is in the Coral Triangle, which covers 6.47 million sq km of land and sea within the territories of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Timor-Leste. Often called the Amazon of the Seas, the Coral Triangle is home to 600 corals or 76 percent of the world’s known coral species, contains 2,500 or 37 percent of the world’s reef fish species, and is also a spawning and nursery ground for six of the world’s seven species of marine turtles.  Wakatobi National Park was designated a Biosphere Reserve in 2012 by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and a “High Biodiversity Area in Coral Triangle Region” by the Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries, and Food Security (CTI-CFF). 

Photo Gallery

Wakatobi District, Southeast Sulawesi Province
13,900 square kilometres
Date declared as an AHP
Other international designations
Habitat types
Contact Information

Unique Flora:  11 species of sea grass, 32 species of true mangroves, and 8 species of mangrove associates

Unique Fauna:  396 species of hard corals (Scleractinia hermatypic), 10 species of non-Scleractinia ahermatypic, 590 fish species, 647 Serranidae species, 29 Napoleon Wrasse species, 11 species of cetaceans, Hawksbill turtle, green turtle, 85 species of birds

Habitat Types:  The park has marine ecosystems (mangrove, seagrass and coral reefs)

Wakatobi National Park is gaining worldwide attention for its magnificent underwater life and superb beaches. Scuba diving, snorkeling, and simply enjoying the beach are among the most popular activities in the park. There are diving facilities for all skill levels, and adventure diving and night diving are also available. Visitors can take a tour to go island hopping to more of the islands of Wakatobi or go dolphin watching.

Different sites on Wakatobi National Park have the potential for educational, research, and recreational activities. Each area showcases natural, cultural, and historical features of the park.


Sub-district Wangi-Wangi and South Wangi Wangi

  1. Liya Fort Palace
  2. Tindoi Fort
  3. Togo Melongo Fort
  4. Mandati Tonga Fort
  5. Watu Lulu
  6. Tailaro Tooge
  7. Watu Ndengu-ndengu
  8. Saru-Sarua
  9. Oguu Lonto Naa Akano
  10. Wanggae Lolo
  11. Bhatu Bhaana Kawa
  12. Oa Wolio
  13. Pakani’a
  14. Padha Togo Molengo


District Kaledupa and South Kaledupa

  1. Kamali Traditional House in Palea
  2. Imam Fada Grave
  3. Tobelo Fort
  4. Kamali Fort
  5. La Manungkira Fort
  6. Palea Kampong (traditional village)
  7. La Donda Fort
  8. La Bohasi Fort
  9. Tapa’a Fort
  10. Bente Mosque
  11. Tua Ollo Fort
  12. Horuo Fort
  13. Laulua Kampong (traditional village)
  14. Olo (Lawa Lau Lua) Fort


District Tomia and East Tomia

  1. Patua Fort
  2. Suo-Suo Fort
  3. Rambi Randa Fort


District Binongko and Togo Binongko

  1. Wali Fort
  2. Koncu Kapala
  3. Palahidu Fort
  4. Oihu Fort
  5. Blacksmith Artisans
  6. Kau Rangka
  7. Wa Ode Goa ancient grave
  8. Baluara Fort

Explore Other Parks


Lorentz National Park

Withsnow-capped mountains and glaciers linked with mangroves and tropical seas, the Lorentz National Park is the largest single protected area in Southeast Asia. It boasts of the highest peak east

Read More »

Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

Sungei Buloh is Singapore’s first and only protected wetland reserve, and home to over 500 species of tropical flora and fauna. Covering 130 hectares of the northwest section of the

Read More »
Viet Nam

Hoang Lien Sa Pa National Park

Covering 29,845 hectares in Viet Nam’s mountainous province of Lao Cai, Hong Lien Sa Pa National Park contains the country’s highest mountain, the Phan Xi Pang or Fansipan. This mountain

Read More »